JOIN
Get Time
features   
TCCC Preview: Meet the bloggers

Author Author
By RRLevering & Churchillio
TopCoder Members

The winners of this year's TopCoder Collegiate Challenge "Pick Me" challenge, RRLevering and Churchillio will be blogging about the TCCC from San Diego later this week. Read about their expectations for the tournament below, and look for the first of their blog entries on Wednesday morning at www.topcoder.com/tccc06.

RRLevering
It's really amazing to think that in just a couple days I'll be sitting in a room with some of the best programmers in the world, and it won't be a chat room. I've been competing in TopCoder development competitions for almost three years now and I must admit a feeling of curiosity with regards to the people behind the handles that strive alongside me every week.

Component competitions are a whole different world than TopCoder algorithm SRMs - a dilated time scale with a more diverse set of mental pressures. It's like a cold, silent battlefield – every moment for a week I wonder what the "enemy" is doing and whether he's better or more prepared than me. The need for directness and clarity when questioning a detail of a component typically turns the component forum into a very formal, terse communication chain. This differs from a lot of the pre/post-round banter that often surrounds the chat rooms in SRMs. It turns many moments of a week that I'm not working on the current TC project into a feeling of guilt and of time wasted. But at the end of this conflict I'm left with a great respect for my competitors and a greater understanding of real-world programming, especially when the competition is close and the design more complex than expected.