JOIN
Get Time
features   
An Interview with Burunduk2

Author
By Katya_Lazareva
TopCoder Member

How long have you been engaged in programming? How did you start?
As I remember I started programming when I was 9 years old in my third year at school. My first programming language was Basic. One day I found an old book describing the principles of solving differential equations. I didn't understand them at all but the examples were given in Basic and I began learning the language.

When I had grasped the fundamentals, I started coding. First I wrote programs just for mastering the language and then went on with the ones closer to real life problems. During the first year of my self-education I tried to write small games - mathematical and arcades mainly. Later I wrote editors, image viewers, and code-helping utilities. (My own 3-D shooter game I left unfinished.)

I participated in my very first programming challenge in the sixth form. It was the Saint-Petersburg School Olympiad where I got the last but one of the third category certificates for solving several problems. By that time I had been already attending a special programming group for kids. At such circles children had an opportunity to study Logo, Pascal, C, Basic and learn how to solve algorithm problems. Thus by the time when I started taking part in real programming challenges, I'd already had some programming skill.

Did you like solving algorithm problems? Did you practice a lot?
Yes. They seemed rather interesting. But I was not seriously focusing at them after my first official contest. I was writing non-algo problems for my own purposes. I studied C++.

TCHS07 Champion Burunduk2
TCHS07 Champion
Burunduk2

After the next challenge -- the City School Olympiad again -- I started to train seriously.

I used Pascal for solving challenge problems. It was very popular among us. I could write in C or C++ but didn't know them that well at the time.

Tell us a little about your contest-solver career start.